“What Sesame Street, Chuck Norris, & Sneakers Taught Me About Twitter”

Recently I was invited to attend and speak at the 140 Characters Conference (aka #140conf) on Twitter over in New York City. This week prior to my talk, I wrote a special guest blog for #140conf entitled “What Sesame Street, Chuck Norris, & Sneakers Can Teach Me About Twitter” (which you can read here), in which I talked about what I was anticipating with the interesting line-up of talks at the conference. So now after watching these talks, I think that I have to officially change the title of this blog post to “What Sesame Street, Chuck Norris, Sneakers, Superheroes, Paper Planes, Deepak Chopra, & More Taught Me About Twitter” simply because I couldn’t find the room to fit all of the great talk topics into one title.

So first off for my original title, this is what I learned:

Sesame Street taught me about…the power of engaging multiple audiences. Dan Lewis (@DanDotLewis)’s talk described how he used the Twitter page for the oh-so-still awesome and classic long running children’s TV show Sesame Street to help reach not just the kids watching the show on a regular basis, but also the parents who may be watching right along with them too. So this taught me that companies/people shouldn’t sometimes  just focus on their “plain as day” main audience, but also be aware and focus on the other types of related audiences around who may want to tune into your content as well aka “going outside of your circle”.

Chuck Norris & “sneakers” taught me about…the power of knowing one’s audience. Through both talks on “Chuck Norris” & “sneakers”, I learned that one can use Twitter to really get to know one’s audience. With @IanJSpector, creator of “Chuck Norris Facts” & the great folks at @Sole_Camp, they both talked about using the medium to identify the wants, needs, and tastes of their very unique audiences through good old quality interaction on a real-time basis.

Above: "LIVE via Skype...*drumroll please*...Deepak Chopra 🙂

And with the other talks, there were seriously SO MANY good ones (from “mac-n-cheese” to “Firefly” to the oh so fabulous “Lupus Ladies of Twitter”) that demonstrated the true power of Twitter with doing overall social good in the world with the great communities that use it. “Superheroes” with @cspenn‘s talk & his example of people using Twitter for earthquake relief taught me about how “ordinary people” can rise up to become “superheroes” in their own communities; “Paper Planes” with @jackhidary’s talk & crazy-awesome, impromptu, conference stopping paper-plane building contest with the audience, taught me about how imagination and teamwork can go a long way in doing good on Twitter; and @DeepakChopra’s Skype talk on “Happiness” taught me simply that Twitter could be used to ultimately help spread…well…happiness 🙂

Above: Pre-"Paper Plane" madness, Jack Hidary showing off "Homer Simpson's brain" for his talk on neuromarketing

Overall, I learned SO MUCH from the #140conf meet in New York City that my tiny blog post here won’t give it the full justice it deserves. @JeffPulver, the person behind #140conf, and every single attendee and speaker at this conference deserve the biggest kudos in the world for starting up and maintaining this great collection of people united simply by the world of Twitter. I personally am very honored and excited to be part of this spectacular group with my two #140conf presentations so far (shown below) and I’m so appreciative to have had the opportunity to represent Detroit and my great team at Detroit Medical Center (DMC) in New York City and see ultimately how much positive power a seemingly tiny 140 character tweet can have on the world.

My Talk at #140conf New York – June 2011

Vodpod videos no longer available.

My Talk at #140conf Detroit – October 2010

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “What Sesame Street, Chuck Norris, & Sneakers Taught Me About Twitter”

  1. Great presentation, excellent post and a fantastic job! Thanks for sharing. Look forward to the next time I get to hear you speak, IRL.

Leave a Reply

